I am Mrs Toh

Gone Girl

Posted on: October 13, 2014

It was baby Audrey’s full month yesterday! Accompanied Mr Toh to his driving lesson in the morning where I waited for him for 2 hours. My Kindle proved very useful. =) Really like his instructor who was very friendly and funny who kept waving hi and bye at me. Lol.

 photo IMG_20141012_124349.jpg

We then headed over to Dad’s place for the party~ Mr Toh left to do some errands after a while then came back to Dad’s place again, and we left for home soon after.

Mr Toh holding cutie Audrey! Cannot tahan her cheeks!!! He lasted longer than I did. Poor baby was so uncomfortable when I was holding her that she cried. =(
 photo IMG_20141012_200116.jpg

Starting to cry liao! *oops*
 photo IMG_20141012_200121.jpg

Happy full month baby Audrey Li Xin! May you grow up to be a lovely, kind hearted and filial girl!

Met Mr Toh at Vivocity on Thurs 09/10 to catch Gone Girl! I’ve finished the book and couldn’t wait to see how they interpret it for the big screen.

Just to note, I think Dan Brown’s Inferno is such a dreary read….I got through halfway when I decided to take a break to read Gone Girl.


[Source]

On the occasion of his fifth wedding anniversary, Nick Dunne reports that his wife, Amy, has gone missing. Under pressure from the police and a growing media frenzy, Nick’s portrait of a blissful union begins to crumble. Soon his lies, deceits and strange behavior have everyone asking the same dark question: Did Nick Dunne kill his wife?

[Source]

I loved Rosamund Pike in the movie. I thought she was perfect for this role and did a great job with it too. Mr Toh agreed too, also said he felt that she was really creepy.
There are of course changes from the book but I thought the changes made it fit on the big screen better. Loved the movie! Maybe even a little more than the book, which is a first for me.

Wanted to go for supper after the movie and we had just got on the train when Mr Toh realised his handphone was missing! Rushed back to GV Vivo where the staff kindly allowed us to search the cinema theatre but we did not manage to find it. I kept calling the phone and still managed to get through at 12am plus but after our supper at 126, the phone was off already.

Seriously. Fucked up society. Why won’t you return the phone to the staff if you found it?? I’m sure everyone nowadays realises how important a mobile phone is to a person right? Somemore Mr Toh’s phone was only a lousy China brand and it was already damaged and missing the volume key. This kind of lousy phone you also want to steal? I get so pissed off just thinking about it. At least Mr Toh wasn’t upset at all. Karma will bite his/her ass, I’m sure of it.

I headed to Starhub Nex on Friday to get his replacement SIM card for him, if not I cannot call or Whatsapp him, I also very xing ku. T_T

Mr Toh managed to get off on 06/10 Monday! We went to Charlene’s place for lunch, she made Jap curry, yums! We also discussed our upcoming Taiwan trip and then went for a dip in her pool! Sooo shiok lah the pool, damn big unlike some other condos. Also went out for dinner with her hubby too, and we had a lovely time~

Caught many movies over the past few weeks.

Met Mr Toh after his work on 05 Oct and we decided to watch The Equalizer after his friend recommended it to us.

In The Equalizer, Denzel Washington plays McCall, a man who believes he has put his mysterious past behind him and dedicated himself to beginning a new, quiet life. But when McCall meets Teri (Chloë Grace Moretz), a young girl under the control of ultra-violent Russian gangsters, he can’t stand idly by – he has to help her. Armed with hidden skills that allow him to serve vengeance against anyone who would brutalize the helpless, McCall comes out of his self-imposed retirement and finds his desire for justice reawakened. If someone has a problem, if the odds are stacked against them, if they have nowhere else to turn, McCall will help. He is The Equalizer.

[Source]

I’m not a big fan of Denzel Washington but I thought he was damn cool in this movie! We really liked this movie, thought the directing and the pacing of the whole show was really good! We would recommend this movie!

Dracula Untold

[Source]

At the turn of the century, the young lord Vlad and his family live a peaceful life ruling over their small kingdom, but when a Turk warlord demands from Vlad a thousand boys and his son to create an army Vlad seeks a terrible power that will allow him to protect his kingdom and family from the Turks at a terrible cost

[Source]

Luke Evans is so handsome! I thought he looks like a man-ner version of Orlando Bloom. =X Movie was ok, not bad~

Also caught Maze Runner. Have not yet managed to read the book yet, hope to get to it soon!


[Source]

Thomas wakes up in an elevator, remembering nothing but his own name. He emerges into a world of about 60 teen boys who have learned to survive in a completely enclosed environment, subsisting on their own agriculture and supplies. A new boy arrives every 30 days. The original group has been in “The Glade” for two years, trying to find a way to escape through the Maze that surrounds their living space. They have begun to give up hope. Then a comatose girl arrives with a strange note, and their world begins to change. There are some great, fast-paced action scenes, particularly those involving the nightmarish Grievers who plague the boys.

[Source]

Very exciting movie! Kept me at the edge of my seat the whole time. Really cannot wait to read the book.

Mr Toh wanted to watch Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno so I accompanied him.


[Source]

Makoto, an assassin who once was contracted by the government, has since become obsessed with tearing it down. Formerly, Kenshin was mainly concerned with protecting Kaoru, but the stakes are now higher as he struggles to protect the nation itself.

[Source]

Ummmmm, I didn’t know much of the storyline apart from what Mr Toh told me. I really like the male lead, thought he was very cute. But the movie is so boring at a lot of parts so I kept falling asleep. *oops* But Mr Toh said the movie was not bad lah.

Had dinner at the ramen place on Level 4.

My order.
 photo IMG_20140930_200642.jpg

Big bowl but it wasn’t very nice, the soup had a weird smell.
 photo IMG_20140930_200906.jpg

Mentaiko gyoza from another shop. The mentaiko flavour wasn’t very apparent and the gyoza was so-so. Waited damn long for it too. Not worth it!
 photo IMG_20140930_200803.jpg

Bought gelato from Gelare.

Mango and Macadamia. Mango had this damn weird taste, Mr Toh later realised it had the dried mango taste…..ummm, wtf? Damn yucky!
Macadamia was toooo sweet and no nuts in it. Pls give me Häagen-Dazs anytime!
 photo IMG_20140930_213036.jpg

On 04 Oct, Mr Toh asked if I did any workout, I said I did not, he asked if I wanna work out after he end work, I was like “???”. He said we can try walking from Serangoon MRT to Chomp Chomp, I said “Sure~” But we ended up taking a bus because there was a direct bus from Kovan MRT.

Huge teh-cino at RK Eating House! We were there for supper, I saw someone order it and thought it looks nice. Was glad to find that it is indeed nice!
 photo IMG_20141004_221150.jpg

We went for a short walk around the area and bought Udders ice cream, the snickers bar flavour is delicious!

Packed lunch to work one day! Specially bought a cute pink container to motivate myself to pack lunch more often.
 photo IMG_20141002_082028.jpg

Garlic butter mushroom and bacon pasta! Was in heaven man….not that I’m praising my own cooking but what can I say? The recipe is awesome!
 photo IMG_20141001_222920.jpg

Got the recipe from here and decided to make it into a pasta dish with my favourite bacon after reading the comments, because why not?

I cooked the bacon first in the oven, then set about cooking the pasta.

When the bacon is done cooking, I then cooked the garlic butter mushrooms. Very easy, just toss and put in the oven.

The pasta should be finishd cooking just before the mushrooms.

Once the mushroom is done, I drain the pasta and mix it into the garlic butter mushroom pot.

Was leaving it to cool when Mr Toh reached home. Asked him to try and he gave a thumbs up! Yay!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

movie freak.
bookworm.
walking dictionary.
gleek.
epicurean
anti-social.
introvert.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 221 other followers

October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Categories

Archives

