I am Mrs Toh

Bangkok Trip – 20/09 to 23/09

Posted on: November 1, 2012

On the day of our flight, we cabbed to Terminal 1!

We had our breakfast at the airport and waited for the time to pass~.

Beautiful flower layouts in the terminal!
Photobucket

Photobucket

This looks like a miniature Gardens by the Bay.
Photobucket

Cosy & pretty resting area facing the runway~
Photobucket
Photobucket

I rested here for a while while Mr Toh’s in the smoking room. My view~~
Photobucket

Love the toilets in the terminal, so big, clean and spacious with a lovely view. =D
Photobucket
Photobucket

Mr Toh busy on his phone~ while I’m busy snapping away~
Photobucket

Us waiting for boarding.
Photobucket

Mr Toh checking out the locations we wanna go on Google map~
Photobucket

Yay to on board entertainment! I watched the movie Brave but didn’t manage to finish it as I got distracted with our meals during the flight.
Photobucket

And this was the last photo I took with my camera before I dropped my camera IN the plane. T_T

Other people drop their stuff ON the plane, no problem, just pick it up. But my stupid camera slid off my thighs and dropped INTO this hole in the vent that was below the windows… =”(

So…I ended up without a camera for the whole trip…any photos I took in Bangkok during this period was with my trusty handphone camera!

We informed the staff about my camera when the plane landed at Bangkok. But I was so worried during the whole flight..I thought what if the camera ended up in the engine or other mechanical area and jammed up the engine and the plane explodes or stop flying halfway?? LOL!!

But thank my lucky stars, nothing happened, the flight was very uneventful and after filing a loss report, we proceeded to our hotel~ The Ecotel along Sukhimvit Road! Pretty good location but quite far from any BTS station. The nearest was Chidlom BTS station about 15 minutes walk away. T_T

Our inflight meal. I LOVE inflight meals! Hehehe, Mr Toh thinks I’m crazy though because he hates it. I thought it was quite yummy!

3 course meal right here!
Photobucket

Black pepper chicken. xD
Photobucket

Vampire Toh with his glass of ‘blood’. What a sinister smile. Tsk.
Photobucket

The minute we checked in, the hotel manager informed us that the airport called and they had found our camera!! Weee!!!! We hoped it was in one piece. Haha. But as the airport was out of the way, we only collected it on the day we went back to Singapore.

Our hotel room. Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable.
Photobucket

I dislike their shower head though…very wonky…the hot/cold controls do not work! The stupid shower spews hot and cold water at its own fancy. *sigh*

Doing a little unpacking.
Photobucket

After freshening up, we headed out for dinner. I wanted to bring Mr Toh to this restaurant that I went to with Christina on my previous trip but….me being me, I ended up remembering the wrong BTS station.

What’s even worse was that I did not have the address or even the restaurant name! All I could remember was that it was in a row of shophouse between Rex Hotel and Asok BTS station. We stopped at Hyatt while I asked for directions. After checking, it turns out the shop is between Thong Lo BTS station and Rex Hotel lah, 2 stops away! Not Asok! Felt like an idiot.

So we took the BTS to Thong Lo and walked back along the shophouses. It was dark and raining heavily and I could only rely on my vague memory of what the shop front looked like. After walking for what seemed like an eternity, I found it!!!

Place in heaven!!! That’s what it felt like to me after almost an hour of walking in the heavy rain with only a little umbrella to share between us!
Photobucket

Address:

Photobucket

Our dinner!

Chili prawns that Mr Toh ordered because “the picture looks nice”. Doesn’t he know not to be deceived by looks?! But this dish was absolutely yummy! The chili was so shiok and the prawns so fresh!
Photobucket

The dish that got me hooked in the first place. Goose (or duck?) meat and blood. xD But somehow, I felt this wasn’t as nice as I remembered. o.O?
Photobucket

Mr Toh~ He must be thinking “All ‘thanks’ to my wife, finally get to sit down and eat after walking so long in the rain!” See how tired he looks…poor thing.
Photobucket

Tom yam soup! Not the best but not bad too.
Photobucket

Super yummy ngoh hiang!!! I also had this the previous time but didn’t remember it was soooo good!
Photobucket

After dinner, we went for a stroll and stopped at Naraya! Bought gifts for the ladies back home and my colleagues. I almost bought a bag for myself…but stopped myself because I wanted to reconsider first. Still, there was quite some damage done. =X

When we reached our hotel, we got a shock, the outside was flooded! No thanks to the super heavy rain earlier on.

Photobucket
Photobucket

Breakfast the next day (21st Sep) ~

Mr Toh said I’m crazy again, go overseas to eat breakfast cereal. Hahaha! I don’t know why but I love eating breakfast cereals in overseas hotels.
Photobucket

Very lackluster breakfast spread though. *sigh* It didn’t get better over the days. =X

They have a very pretty smoking corner though, full of greenery with a small pond and fishes!
Photobucket
Photobucket

After breakfast, we headed to Wat Rakang.

At the pier~
Photobucket

Took this picture of it while on the boat. So pretty~
Photobucket

Us on the boat. Fail shots. If I did not cut off Mr Toh’s head, I cut off my face. *shake head*
Photobucket
Photobucket

Lots of fishes at the pier when we arrived at the opposite side!
Photobucket
Photobucket

Walkway to the temple~
Photobucket

They have a lot of dogs there! The weather was very hot so they were all just lazing in the shade. Shiok.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Pretty facade of the temple~
Photobucket

We headed to Wat Paknam after that. The two temples are quite near.

My favourite temple of all time. I just feel so peaceful there. They did some upgrading works, the outside of the temple has this extended shelter now.
Photobucket
Photobucket

We headed to another temple in Chinatown after that. After praying, we went in search of food! Didn’t know where to eat in Chinatown so we just stopped at this random shop that looked quite crowded. My logic is crowd = good food, right? =P

Shop was small but clean enough.
Photobucket

My fried rice. Super duper yummy!! Seriously. Best fried rice ever! Maybe even better than the one from Ding Tai Fung! xD We lucked out! Hahaha~
Photobucket

We went back to the hotel to freshen up then we headed out for shopping~

Grabbed a bite from 7-11 while walking to the BTS station.

Seriously, look at the wide range of choices!!
Photobucket
Photobucket

At a cafe outside Platinum Mall.

Him & his ice milk tea.
Photobucket

My cappuccino! Bragged to Mr Toh that I had biscuits and he didn’t have. Yes, childish I know. =X
Photobucket

We didn’t shop there for long because I got a headache after browsing 1 floor. Tsk. I weak or Platinum Mall got problem? =X Most likely the former. T_T

We left and continued shopping at other malls along the area.

Stopped for dinner at Big C at around 9pm, we decided to have buffet steamboat. Can’t remember the shop name but it was on level 4 I think.
Photobucket
Photobucket

Food was OK, there was also cooked food to choose from. But do not go when later than 8:30pm, because they start clearing the buffet tables at 9pm. =( So ended up we didn’t have much food to choose from.

My Naraya buys on the 1st night 20/09. Pouches for Mummy and his cousins, the elephant for my sis. It’s so cute! Got eyelashes somemore!
Photobucket

Buys from Pratunam on the 2nd night 21/09~ Includes both road side and shopping malls.

Keychains for colleagues, coasters for our home, a t-shirt and my comfy 199baht flats + a gorgeous gold jewelery box for auntie~
Photobucket

Berms for Mr Toh, Tshirts for us, a bag and rice crackers for everyone back home~
Photobucket

Bought a clock for our home too~
Photobucket

Breakfast the next day, our last day before leaving on Sun. =(

Sleepy, bu shuang face.
Photobucket

We are going to Chatuchak today!!

Took this shot on the bridge while otw to BTS.
Photobucket

Cute puppies!
Photobucket
Photobucket

Stopping our shopping frenzy for lunch.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Recalled how us girls didn’t last more than 3 hours but now with Mr Toh, we walked until they closed! Lol!! We still didn’t manage to find the previous pasta stall though…perhaps it closed or moved already since there was some changes to the market.

We encountered a Gangnam style dance mob! Can’t see much in this photo though. But the music was damn loud and the crowd was so hyper.
Photobucket

Dinner time! We ordered this pork noodle soup thingy because all the locals were having it. Not really my taste though.
Photobucket

We continued shopping until the shops inside started closing, I think it was about 6 plus then. As the sky darkened, make shift stalls started sprouting on the roads! We continued walking and shopping~!

Some snack we had, I think it was squid….errr…..very fishy and rubbery. =( I didn’t like it one bit.
Photobucket

Supper in our hotel room on that night after our massage! Thanks to 7-11~! The choices of ready to eat meals they have are mind boggling! Singapore 7-11, Y U NO have as many choices?!
Photobucket

Speaking of massage, the masseuse Mr Toh got was damn lousy, She actually fell asleep while massaging his legs! He was wondering why she kept stopping when he looked up and realised she was dozing off! He was damn pissed off. =X I thought it was pretty funny though. LOL.

Our buys from Chatuchak!!

Cloth slippers, tees, a sling bag, skirt and floral shorts! All less than 150 baht I think! The cloth slippers even cheaper, 3 pairs for 150 baht IIRC. xD
Photobucket

Pouches for the ladies at work and bags for myself, Mummy and my aunts! I love the bags there!! Quality not bad.
Photobucket

The lady at this particular shop is very nice, when we went back a 2nd time, Mr Toh ask her to give us a better price because we bought a lot already and she did. She then said to Mr Toh to go back SG, work hard, save more $$, come back to Bangkok and let me spend! LOL!! Pity I don’t remember her exact location. T_T

Tees for Mr Toh as well as a Rikkakuma bear & a tee for Hongyi~!
Photobucket

My pretty bra & panty sets! IIRC, they were about 170 baht for 1 set? Super comfy too!
Photobucket

Wall clock for our home!
Photobucket

The next morning, we went for massage again because Mr Toh was very dissatisfied last night. We managed to find a shop that was open early and we had a great massage before we rushed back to the hotel to check out. Poor driver had to wait for us though because he was very punctual!

In matching tees! =X
Photobucket

@ the airport~
Photobucket

Lunch! Food was so so only. Urgh, if only the food at the airports are as good as what they have outside.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Huge statue at the airport.
Photobucket

Standard tourist photo.
Photobucket

Our spacious seats on the flight back! I was a tad disappointed that there was no window though.
Photobucket

Us~ Mr Toh act yi ge suave. =X
Photobucket

Comfy purple blanket~
Photobucket

I thought there was no TV at my seat but it was hidden below the arm rest! Seems tinier though.
Photobucket

Our meal on the way back, less delish. =(
Photobucket

On a happier note, I got my camera back! The 2 of us very kuku though. We thought we could collect it inside so we checked in. However we couldn’t find the lost & found counter, so we asked the staff at their transfer counter and they advised we should have collected it outside. *pulls hair*

They were very helpful and helped us contact the staff outside and assured us they will bring it to us at the gate before we board. So…heng ah!! So thankful and yet sorry to the staff who had to walk all the way inside. Very far you know? =X

The lost & found tag.
Photobucket

The pictures I found in my camera.
The awesome staff who found my camera!! I think they were doing a testing shot to see if my camera was still alive.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Looking at the photos, I can conclude that the area below our seats were the cargo area. HENG AH!!!! Thank my lucky stars and the staff who found it!!!

Eventful trip. Lol. Mr Toh didn’t manage to go to a few of the temples because the trip there was too expensive so he a bit sian. But never mind, there’s always next time.

I can conclude from this trip that I love Bangkok. ❤

I am also amazed by how long Mr Toh can shop. Lol. From our experience at Chatuchak, Mr Toh can shop for a loooong time provided there are other stuff for sale, like ornaments etc & not just clothes. If it’s just clothes, he will be sian even before we start shopping. So Chatuchak is the best place for him to shop. xD

Can’t wait to go again next year and hopefully Mummy can come with us. Imma bring her to the 4 face Buddha to pray. =)

Tags:

Leave a Reply

movie freak.
bookworm.
walking dictionary.
gleek.
epicurean
anti-social.
introvert.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 221 other followers

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories

Archives

