I am Mrs Toh

A belated birthday celebration

Posted on: May 13, 2012

What I had for lunch on Friday, another item from Salads & Wraps! Caesar chicken wrap. Hehe, I love anything Caesar!
Photobucket

Photobucket

It was pretty good, just that the distribution of the sauce and meat weren’t very even so for the first few bites, all I got was the wrap skin and lettuce. It was also quite filling, I didn’t feel hungry at all until I met Mr Toh for dinner at 212.

After Mr Toh left to meet his friends, I got bored and decided to do my nails~! Just a simple one… O.P.I Berry Daring. The color’s really gorgeous and application was smooth! I only did 1 coat. This is by far one of my best applications to date. Very little bubbles! Hee.

Photobucket

On Saturday, I woke Mr Toh up in the morning as he had some errands to run and I had my dental appointment.

My casual outfit for a casual day~

Photobucket

O.P printed tee with Topshop skinny jeans.

Photobucket

I was about 10 mins late for my dental appoinment but to my surprise, I didn’t need to wait. I was called in about 5 seconds after I sat down. Dr Djeng took a look at my progress then changed the rubber bands and added more to the top and bottom rows of my right side. After that was done, he told me no need to put on the rabbit bands this month. Yay!!! But my teeth is really sore right now. T_T

This was by far the fastest dental appointment ever! I was in and out of the clinic in 10 minutes! Haha! Mr Toh also got a shock when I called him.

Met Mr Toh at Dhoby Ghaut and we proceeded to buy tickets for Dark Shadows and 21 Jump Street. Mini movie marathon! It’s been a while since we’ve done that. It was actually also Mr Toh’s belated birthday celebration!

We had about an hour before the 1st movie so we went for breakfast. It was still pretty early, about 10:30am only so not many places were open yet. We settled for Subway. Boy did we regret it. Super bad service. This 2 ladies were chatting at the counter when we walked in. We had to wait a little while for one of them to finish saying what she was saying before she greeted us. Mr Toh ordered our typical order, 6 inch hearty italian Subway Melt for us to share. After she cut open the bread, she asked him what filling he wanted. -.- He repeated again Subway Melt.

After toasting the bread with cheese, she asked what veggies he wanted. He asked for lettuce and cucumber. The amount of lettuce she gave was astoundingly pathetic! Just one small grab. Then she asked what sauce, he asked for mayo and black pepper. Before she put the mayo, Mr Toh asked for more lettuce, she obliged by pinching a little and throwing it on the sandwich then added the mayo. Mr Toh was pissed off by then. The amount of lettuce currently on the sandwich is much lesser than what we get at other stores! Mr Toh likes his lettuce so he requested a THIRD time for more lettuce. She threw in a little bit more and proceeded to wrap the sandwich. I noticed that she missed out the black pepper so I told him and he had to hand back the sandwich to get her to unwrap it to add the black pepper. No apologies no nothing. She wasn’t paying attention at all.

Throughout the whole ordeal, the 2 of them was chatting incessantly. The other lady was the cashier and I think the manager. No wonder service standard so lousy, manager also this kind of pattern. This was the WORST service we ever encountered at any Subway restaurant. Mr Toh was pissed off enough to write an email to complain. Wonder what they’ll reply him.

After the meal, we headed to the cinemas for our first movie, Dark Shadows!


[Source]

In the year 1752, Joshua and Naomi Collins, with young son Barnabas, set sail from Liverpool, England to start a new life in America. But even an ocean was not enough to escape the mysterious curse that has plagued their family. Two decades pass and Barnabas (Johnny Depp) has the world at his feet-or at least the town of Collinsport, Maine. The master of Collinwood Manor, Barnabas is rich, powerful and an inveterate playboy…until he makes the grave mistake of breaking the heart of Angelique Bouchard (Eva Green). A witch, in every sense of the word, Angelique dooms him to a fate worse than death: turning him into a vampire, and then burying him alive. Two centuries later, Barnabas is inadvertently freed from his tomb and emerges into the very changed world of 1972. He returns to Collinwood Manor to find that his once-grand estate has fallen into ruin. The dysfunctional remnants of the Collins family have fared little better… [Source]

I had been wanting to catch this movie because it’s a Tim Burton film with Johnny Depp in it! Hehe. He was good (as usual) in this movie, playing the confused vampire very well! I already knew this wasn’t a dark movie but a funny one so I really enjoyed it. I especially loved the part after he was set free from the coffin after 196 years. So amusing to see his reactions to some modern day stuff like a McDonalds sign and a road! Overall, the film was enjoyable and quite funny but not really a must watch in my books. Perhaps only if there was nothing else or if you’re a Johnny Depp fan. =)

After the movie ended, we went to the Motorola service center at The Cathay to repair Mr Toh’s old phone, the screen was a little wonky after he dropped it on the floor. Can keep it as a spare just in case. Once that was done, I brought Mr Toh to Blackbird cafe for brunch! Been wanting to give their eggs benedict a try. $12 for my eggs benny and $12 for Mr Toh’s Nana omelette. Pretty reasonably priced.

All the photos from here on are taken with Mr Toh’s HTC One X because my phone was dying on me. =( This phone camera is good!!

Photobucket

My Lychee dose.

Photobucket

Mr Toh’s Toffee Infusion.

Photobucket

Him looking tired, having only slept 4 hours the night before. =X

Photobucket

Nana omelette. I had a bite of it and it was not bad. It was runny in the inside with ham and cheese. One plus point is that the baked beans were warm!

Photobucket

My eggs benny! Look at the beautiful eggs! The egg yolk was runny, just the way I like it. This is the first time I am trying this so I didn’t know what to expect. The sauce was a little soury but acceptable to me. Loved to pop the whole yolk in my mouth! Heh. One issue is that the accompanying salad was kinda wilted so that was not enjoyable.

Photobucket

Overall, I find the portions to be a tad small….but it was OK in the end, still quite filling somehow. Atmosphere of the cafe was nice and the waitresses were attentive. We were there at around 1pm plus and it wasn’t crowded at all. Very pleasant experience!

Blackbird Cafe
Address: 6 Handy Road,#01-01A The Luxe
Tel: +65 9185 8116
Opening Hours:
Mon–Thu: 11am – 10pm
Fri–Sat & PH Eve: 11am – 12am
Sun: 10am – 10pm
Weekend Brunch: 10am – 3pm

After brunch, we went window shopping at Plaza Singapura while waiting for our next movie, 21 Jump Street! The synopsis seem interesting.


[Source]

In high school, Schmidt (Jonah Hill) was a dork and Jenko (Channing Tatum) was the popular jock. After graduation, both of them joined the police force and ended up as partners riding bicycles in the city park. Since they are young and look like high school students, they are assigned to an undercover unit to infiltrate a drug ring that is supplying high school students synthetic drugs.  [Source]

The movie was hilarious,very funny! It was an unexpectedly good show and liked to poke fun at itself…haha! The two male leads were good and they had great chemistry and I find the friendship between the 2 of them touching. Great show!! There’s also a surprise cameo by Johnny Depp! I only found out now that it was because Johnny Depp was in the original TV series from the 80s. Cool!

We headed back to Hougang after the show and we bought flowers for Aunty and my mommy-in-law. We wanted 2 identical bouquets so we had to wait a little while which was perfect because Mr Toh was hungry already. We had Ajisen for dinner because we really didn’t know what to eat!

My spicy miso ramen. Meh.

We had an accompanying side dish called Ice Fish Karaage. It’s a special set for Mothers’ Day. The ice fish karaage was good! Felt like we were eating mini fish sticks. Heh.

Photobucket

Collected the bouquets and made our way to Dad’s place. Ain’t the colors just gorgeous?! The carnation blooms were soooo pretty!! We bought them from LabFloret at B1, Hougang Mall. =)

Photobucket

Hongyi with Dad and Aunty~

Photobucket

Asked him to give mommy a kiss and he so guai! Hahahaha, so cute!

Photobucket

See his cheeky face, he’s looking at me to see if I was taking his picture. Cheeky boy!

Photobucket

Heh, we paid our respects to mommy-in-law, sat for a while then headed home as Mr Toh was very tired.

I don’t have a habit of giving flowers to my mom because she is a very traditional chinese woman who believes that $$ should be spent on practical stuff. But maybe next year I’ll give her a surprise. =)

I’ve never told my mom that I love her because we don’t really show affection in our family. She knows I love her in my heart can already. =X She’s not one to show her affection through words but she shows it through actions, like cooking for me when I go home, giving me the drumstick from the duck, etc. She’s been through a lot and it wasn’t easy for her to bring us up. I just hope that my brother can buck up and not let my mom worry about him so much…. Also hope that I can give her a happy and comfortable life in future as well as grandkids lah. =P

Happy Mothers’ Day to all the great women in our lives who have sacrificed so much. We love you Mommy!!

Leave a Reply

movie freak.
bookworm.
walking dictionary.
gleek.
epicurean
anti-social.
introvert.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 221 other followers

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Archives

