I am Mrs Toh

The Avengers & a birthday gift for my Mr Toh <3

Posted on: May 1, 2012

We finally caught The Avengers yesterday! Luckily I booked the tickets way in advance on 19 April because all the shows were already full like one week before. Heng ah!! Hee.

Finally!!!
Photobucket

Marvel Studios presents in association with Paramount Pictures “Marvel’s The Avengers”–the Super Hero team up of a lifetime, featuring iconic Marvel Super Heroes Iron Man, The Incredible Hulk, Thor, Captain America, Hawkeye and Black Widow. When an unexpected enemy emerges that threatens global safety and security, Nick Fury, Director of the international peacekeeping agency known as S.H.I.E.L.D., finds himself in need of a team to pull the world back from the brink of disaster. Spanning the globe, a daring recruitment effort begins. Starring Robert Downey Jr., Chris Evans, Mark Ruffalo, Chris Hemsworth, Scarlett Johansson, Jeremy Renner and Samuel L. Jackson, and directed by Joss Whedon, “Marvel’s The Avengers” is based on the ever-popular Marvel comic book series “The Avengers,” first published in 1963 and a comics institution ever since. Prepare yourself for an exciting event movie, packed with action and spectacular special effects, when “Marvel’s The Avengers” assemble in summer 2012. In “Marvel’s The Avengers,” superheroes team up to pull the world back from the brink of disaster when an unexpected enemy threatens global security. [Source]

The movie is awesome!! No no, it was beyond awesome! All the waiting, all the hype, it didn’t disappoint and lived up to expectations. Definitely one of the best movies this year so far. Super lots of eye candy too! From RDJ to Chris Evans to Chris Hemsworth. *drooling*

I’ve always loved RDJ as Iron Man, he is so right for the character, it just feels as if he is playing himself, which some articles have confirmed this. Hahaha. Got to love a confident, handsome man. Chris Evans (Captain America) is very cute too and looks great in his costume but my favourite have got to be Chris Hemsworth (Thor). Those eyes….and he is so man! *fan girl shrieks* I just realised he’s also in another upcoming film, Snow White and the Huntsman. I wasn’t planning on catching this actually because I really don’t like Kristen Stewart. But now……I may have to consider watching this movie because of him. *hmmm*

For this movie, the Hulk was played by Mark Ruffalo (replacing Edward Norton) and i feel he makes an exceptional Hulk. I thought he portrayed him very well and I really liked him in this role. The script for the movie was well written and their dialogue was so funny!

****Spoilers Ahead****

All movie quotes were taken from here.

For me, the most memorable and my favourite scene of the ENTIRE movie was between Hulk and Loki, when they were at the Stark tower.

Loki: [Hulk and Loki fighting. Everything stops] I am a God! I am not going to be bullied by a –
[Hulk grabs him by the legs and throws him around, leaves him lying on the floor, dazed and confused.]

The Hulk (when stomping off): Puny God!

That last line just killed it. The whole cinema erupted into laughter at this scene! The guy in front of me had his head thrown back and was laughing his head off. Super funny I tell you!

There were lots of memorable and funny lines.

A few more of my favourites:

Thor: He’s my brother.
Natasha Romanoff: He killed 80 people in 2 days.
Thor: …He’s adopted.


Tony Stark: Let’s do a headcount: Your brother, the demigod; a super-soldier, a living legend who actually lives up to the legend; a man with breathtaking anger management issues; a couple of master assassins; and you’ve managed to piss off every single one of us.
Loki: That was the plan.
Tony Stark: Not a great plan.
Tony Stark: When they come, and they WILL come, they’ll come for you.
Loki: I have an army.
Tony Stark: We have a Hulk.
Loki: I thought the beast had wandered off…

Another classic from the trailer:

Tony Stark: No offence, but I don’t play well with others.
Steve Rogers: Big man, in a suit of armour… take that away, what are you?
Tony Stark: Uh… genius, billionaire, playboy, philanthropist…
[Thor laughs]

Awwww…Tony Stark is pretty awesome. Hehe.

Not forgetting the AMAZING director Joss Whedon who did a very good job! All in all, this was a great movie and definitely not to be missed! I am definitely watching it again, maybe next week because there were some parts where I was distracted by this bunch of people and their 2 kids walking in and out of our row. GRRR!!

Seriously! What is wrong with Singaporeans?? If it’s not mobile phones ringing, it’s loud talking or kids walking here and there because they can’t sit still.

Don’t get me wrong, I love kids. But they really don’t have business being in a movie theater when it’s not playing cartoons. It’s fine if they can sit still through the whole movie, but not when they keep getting up, stand beside me at the end of the row & stare at me. I don’t know what for! I was trying my best to tune them out but it’s pretty hard when the kids and the adults just keep walking in and out of the row. Sometimes I really hate watching movies at theaters for this reason.. Okok, I have to try to be more optimistic. I guess at least no mobiles were ringing this time. =)

Before the movie, we were walking around Nex after our dinner and we stepped into HTC to take a look. Mr Toh’s been wanting to change phone for a few weeks now because his phone is almost dying…it keeps hanging and his battery doesn’t even last a day. Oh, the poor thing.. We took a look at the new HTC One X and I must say, it looks pretty good. Very slim with a big screen of 4.7″, even bigger than my Galaxy S2 with 4.27″. Not to mention the 1.5GHz quad core processor and the camera is also awesome.

We left the store after checking out the price. After taking a few steps, I told Mr Toh that I think the phone would be great for him because it’s fast (he gets frustrated with slow phones). He agreed with me, then I told him, how about I buy it for you as a birthday present (his birthday’s on the 10th this month)? Of course he said yes, hahahah! But I also told him that means I can’t save as much this month, what with Mothers’ Day & Mommy’s birthday also coming up. *pulls hair*

So, we went back and got the black one. =) We had to wait a while for the sales person to get the phone and check that everything was alright, but we didn’t mind waiting since we had time and the sales person was very funny also. Heh. While making payment, Mr Toh asked me what about the Diablo 3 that I pre-ordered for him because I told him that was his birthday present. Never mind lah, 2 birthday presents cannot meh? He also got me an expensive gift for Vday (although he mentioned that this gift is more expensive than what he got me.). And he also bought me my S2 when his mobile contract ended. Never mind! My birthday coming up in October! Hehe. =P

New toy~~ (S$838 without contract)
Photobucket

“The one you’ve been waiting for?” Bitch please, you trying to replace me or something?! =X It was a good good night. =D

What I had for lunch yesterday, economic rice with old cucumber soup! So balanced right? Got veg, meat, fish and soup. Hehehe. Love the soup from the new stall, cheap too, $3 only. =D
Photobucket

Today, I slacked the whole day! Woke up when Mr Toh left for work, had cereal with milk for breakfast, watched my Big Bang Theory, had fried beehoon for lunch then napped until 7pm. =X Changed the bed sheets and here I am now, blogging and having some yoghurt. Waiting for Mr Toh to knock off so we can have dinner together~

Was reading Twitter when I saw that Smooch had launched…I was so tempted by their braided hem shorts ever since the preview was up. So….I sinned! Commented at 21:04. Now I am in a dilemma…maybe I won’t get invoiced so I won’t be spending money, but if I don’t get invoiced, I’m gonna be so sad! T_T First world pain sia….


[Source]

Can’t really see the braided details very clearly for the black piece, but as I have a big butt, black is my only choice though white looks gorgeous. =P Now, the wait to see if I got an invoice!

2 Responses to "The Avengers & a birthday gift for my Mr Toh <3"

I watched Avengers today, wow awesome movie indeed! 😀

Yes, totally agree! Superb movie, they weren’t wrong in calling it a comic book triumph!

Leave a Reply

movie freak.
bookworm.
walking dictionary.
gleek.
epicurean
anti-social.
introvert.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 221 other followers

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Archives

