I am Mrs Toh

Birthday weekend

Posted on: October 23, 2011

Friday – 14/10
Met mr Toh after work at Tampines~ He suggested to go Ikea to buy some stuff & have dinner!

Waited a super long time for the bus. I remarked to Mr Toh “以前没有等这么久” He replied, “以前警察穿短裤,恐龙跑马路。” T_T

I told him last time there are no 马路 when there was 恐龙. Hahahah! Correct right?!

We had meatballs + chicken wing + dark chocolate cake. I wanted to try their daim cake but the couple in front of us got the last one. *sad*

I know the meatballs have beef, but we were desperate! There was nothing else to eat. T_T *sigh*

So after dinner, we went walking around~ But the place was freezing cold!! We bought our stuff and left soon after. Cabbed back home as I was lazy to take bus with the barang barang we were carrying. =X

Saturday 15/10
I woke up really early all thanks to a phone call about work. T_T

I was watching X Factor when I heard Mr Toh laughing! He was mimicking me.  He said I was laughing and it woke him up. Oops. Didn’t realise I was laughing out loud. =X

We headed to AMK to meet Mom for my birthday dinner~!

Before dinner, we walked around AMK and Mom did a little shopping. We headed to Mellben Seafood at around 5pm. It is at Blk 232, AMK Ave 3. There were 2 coffeeshops there. We got a little confused but still managed to find the right place. I had actually called on Friday to make a reservation for Sat, but they advised me that they don’t accept reservations for weekends….but the phone number was correct!  I was like, what the hell…then why didn’t the guy on the phone tell me?! (The answer was revealed when I received a call from them the following Monday, wanting to confirm if I was coming that night at 5pm. T_T. I said Saturday leh, not Monday!)

Anyway, we placed order for claypot crab bee hoon noodles, chili crab, baby kai lan with garlic and oyster sauce, yam ring, fried beancurd & a Playboy Chicken (which is basically just thai style fried chicken).

I thought the crab bee hoon didn’t taste as good as I remembered it from 6 years ago. But the crab was really fresh and juicy! The chili crab was also lacking…I thought it wasn’t spicy enough. Overall, the crabs were disappointing in flavor.

The baby kai lan was normal, nothing special.  I thought the yam ring was not bad though. Been a loooooong time since I had yam ring though, so it was kinda nostalgic for me. The fried beancurd was just bad. The texture was really off-putting, I think they didn’t fry it enough. The playboy chicken was also normal.

It was a really disappointing meal…they don’t live up to their expectations. *sigh* Don did tell me that their head chef had left and opened a stall near his house…so perhaps that was why the standard dropped?

I’m guessing I won’t be coming back again.

Mom treated us to the meal and she even gave me a red packet! =D

After dinner, we headed to Nex to meet Andrew for a movie, Real Steel. I have been hearing rave reviews about this show since it opened in the US!

[Source]

A gritty, white-knuckle, action ride set in the near-future where the sport of boxing has gone high-tech, “Real Steel” stars Hugh Jackman as Charlie Kenton, a washed-up fighter who lost his chance at a title when 2000-pound, 8-foot-tall steel robots took over the ring.Now nothing but a small-time promoter, Charlie earns just enough money piecing together low-end bots from scrap metal to get from one underground boxing venue to the next. When Charlie hits rock bottom, he reluctantly teams up with his estranged son Max (Dakota Goyo) to build and train a championship contender.As the stakes in the brutal, no-holds-barred arena are raised, Charlie and Max, against all odds, get one last shot at a comeback. [Source]

I loved EVERYTHING about this movie! From the robots to the actors to the storyline. I especially loved Hugh Jackman. But what was a surprise was the actor playing Max. He is freaking adorable!! I want my future son to be like him! Hahahaha! Highly recommended show of the year!

Sunday 16/10
Meeting Christina today for chill out/rotting session. Mr Toh tagged along.
Went library to get a book and headed to Changi Airport.

We had lunch at T3 foodcourt then adjourned to Coffee Bean. We managed to get a sofa seat, thanks to ‘Auntie’ Christina who was very fast in spotting and snatching the seat! Hahaha! Shiokness! I then proceeded to demolish my book. Christina fell asleep after awhile. Lol.

We had dinner at Fish & Co! Yummy!! The 3 of us shared a seafood platter for 1 and a new york fish & chips. Double shiokness!

Monday 17/10
The day of my actual birthday! Old  liao. T_T

Don ordered Dominos for lunch, kindly sponsored by Eric. My lovely CS colleagues bought mango cake for me!! The cake was delish although the mangoes were very sour, I think because it is not mango season yet?

Eric gave me an angbao and wished me 快高长大. Very funny this guy. T_T But I was very happy! Thanks so much guys!!

Mr Toh picked me up from work~ *muacks!*

We headed to Funan IT Mall for dinner and had my favourite shabu shabu! Then we went to Plaza Singapura for movie~ While we were waiting for the show to start, Mr Toh started singing along to the Beauty & the Beast song they were playing. He then mentioned that he memorised almost all the Disney songs. I told him he is such a girl. Because I don’t know any. Lol!

We caught 9:35pm show for The Sorceror & The White Snake. But we thought the show was boring. T_T Lousy graphics & nothing exciting.

Managed to catch the MRT home after that~

It was an enjoyable birthday this year. Even though I am getting older, here’s to more awesome birthday celebrations!

Leave a Reply

movie freak.
bookworm.
walking dictionary.
gleek.
epicurean
anti-social.
introvert.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 221 other followers

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Archives

